Board of Supervisors

2018 Board Photo

Photo Key

1st Row, left to right:  Diane Foster, Deputy Clerk to the Board; Mary Krause, County Administrator; Tamara Hicks, Town of Naples; Caroline Sauers, Town of Richmond; Theodore (Ted) Bateman, Town of Hopewell; Jeffery Gallahan, Town of Manchester.

2nd Row:  Daniel Marshall, Town of South Bristol; Vice-Chairman Robert Green, Town of Bristol; Kristine Singer, Town of Canadice; Norman Teed, Town of Phelps; Dominick Vedora, City of Geneva; Louis Guard, City of Geneva; Mark Venuti, Town of Geneva.

3rd Row:  Richard Russell, City of Canandaigua; Peter Ingalsbe, Town of Farmington; Todd Campbell, Town of West Bloomfield; Kristin Mueller, Clerk to the Board; Gary Curtiss, County Attorney; Brian Young, Deputy County Administrator; Frederick Lightfoote, Town of Gorham.

Top Row: Frederick Wille, Town of East Bloomfield; Andrew Wickham, Town of Seneca; Chairman John Marren, Town of Victor; David Baker, City of Canandaigua.

Absent: Gregory Bendzlowicz, City of Geneva; Vacant - Town of Canandaigua.

The Board of Supervisors is the legislative body for the County of Ontario with one Supervisor representing each of the 16 towns, two Supervisors representing the City of Canandaigua, and three Supervisors representing the City of Geneva. Each Supervisor is allocated a certain number of weighted votes which is determined by the population of the Town, Ward, or District he/she represents. The Board meets every third Thursday, temporarily meeting at the Safety Training Facility, located at 2914 County Road 48, Canandaigua, NY. Board Meeting Schedule.
The members of the Board, at the Organizational Meeting, elect a Chairman to preside at meetings. The Chairman, in turn, selects a Vice-Chairman to act in his stead, when necessary, and also appoints the members of the Board’s ten standing committees. Each standing committee oversees various departments and agencies and presents resolutions for approval by the full Board on behalf of those departments under its supervisor.

The Clerk of the Board is appointed by the Board, and the primary function of that office is to provide support services and coordinate activities for the Board Chairman and the other twenty members. The office compiles the Board agenda, distributes adopted resolutions, and prepares the Board’s Proceedings as well as providing research services. The Clerk to the Board performs an intermediate service, rather than one that can be measured as an end product. This department provides a facilitating service at the legislative level which makes it of primary importance to the operation of the county.