Education

2017 Safety Courses


Members of the Marine and Recreational Division offer boating safety courses locally. There is no fee for participants between the ages of 10 and 17. There is a $10 fee for those 18 and older to receive your certificate, this is payable to the State of New York after successful completion of the coursework. Classroom hours are 9am to 5pm. Currently we have information on two courses being held this year.  One by our Office and the other by a private instructor.  Our class will be held Saturday, June 17, 2017 at the Ontario Co. Safety Training Ctr., Co. Rd. 48, Canandaigua (Town of Hopewell).  Call (585)394-4560 to leave a message for the instructor. This class is for adults and children.  The second, private, class is Monday, July 10, 2017 at Victor Parks & Recreation, 220 Idlewood Rd., Victor. Holden, G. Hank (585)784-5260.  This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both  The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
 

2014 Boater Education Law


The mandatory boater education law Effective May 1, 2014. Read about it here

Upcoming Courses


There may be other upcoming classes being offered by other instructors in the area. For these classes or for courses in other areas of the state, visit the New York State Boater Safety Course Listing .